EBSQ Blogger of the Week: Vickie Miller

This week’s EBSQ Blogger of the Week is another amazing jewelry artist, specializing in lampwork beads and pendants. I find her work so bright and refreshing, it’s like an embodiment of Spring!

Who and where are you?

My name is Vickie Miller and I’m a glass beadmaker and jewelry designer from Camano Island in Washington State.

Hearts Delight, Lampwork Glass

How did you get started art blogging?

Over the years as I’ve followed the blogs of some of my favorite artists I’ve found it fascinating that these creative and talented people were people just like me. They made me feel as though they really wanted to share and connect with me personally and allow me a glimse of their day to day existance. By sharing their photos they invited me into their homes, and introduced me to their families and friends, and they also shared other interests they have outside of their art. I came to realize that I wanted to share in this way also. To show people not only what I do, but that I have a life in addition to my art. I love it when people stop by my blog and leave a comment. It makes me feel approachable as a person and not as just the art they see on their computer screen.

Caribbean Rhythm, Lampwork Glass

Any tips for other EBSQ art bloggers?

I would recommend regular updates to your blog. Even if it’s only a few sentences. Show photos of not only your finished art but maybe the process of you creating your art, steps along the way, or photos of your studio or supplies that you use. People like to have a peek inside your life. Treat them as if they
were a visitor to your home.

Hollow Cone Pendant, Lampwork Glass

What’s your musical inspiration of choice when you’re working in your studio?

Ahhhh, what music inspires me? It could be anything from vintage rock…Foreigner, Elton  and Fleetwood Mac, to contemporary jazz…..David Sanborn and Wynton Marsalis……to Christian artists such as Mercy Me, Jars of Clay, and Amy Grant.

Flip Flopped Feet, Lampwork Glass

What’s coming next from your easel?

What’s coming next from my “easel” or “torch” in my case? I would love to try some of the newer silver laden glass that’s been developed in the last couple years. There are so many beautiful choices I just don’t know where to begin.

http://www.rubysshoes.blogspot.com/

Thank you Vickie for being an EBSQ Blogger of the Week!

If you are an EBSQ Artist and would like to be considered for Blogger of the Week just add us to your blogroll. I’m searching EBSQ profiles weekly for links to artist’s blogs. If you aren’t an EBSQ Artist, what are you waiting for?

Join Today!

Author: Amanda Makepeace

Pencil artist inspired by nature, fantasy and dark folklore.

3 thoughts on “EBSQ Blogger of the Week: Vickie Miller”

Comments are closed.